Illinois General Assembly - Compiled Statutes of Illinois (2023)


Illinois Compiled Statutes
ILCS listingPublic actsLook forGuidedisclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Office

Updating the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) database is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but can be found on this website asPublic actsshortly after they became law. For information on the relationship between statutes and public acts, see theGuide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statute changes are sometimes added to the statute database before they become effective. If the source note at the end of a statute section includes a public law that has not yet gone into effect, the version of the law currently in effect may already have been removed from the database and you should refer to that public law. for changes made in accordance with current legislation.


625 ILCS 5/3-114

(625 ILCS 5/3-114) (c ch. 95 1/2, paras. 3-114)
Second. 3-114.Transfer by law.
(a) If an owner's interest in a vehicle passes to another other than by voluntary transfer, the transferee shall, except as provided in paragraph (b), immediately mail or deliver within 20 days to the Secretary of State the latest certificate of ownership, if available, proof of transfer, and your application for a new certificate in the manner prescribed by the Secretary of State. It shall be unlawful for any person possessing a certificate of ownership of a motor vehicle, semi-trailer, or residential automobile by reason of having a lien or lien on said vehicle to leave or refuse to surrender such certificate to the owner upon satisfaction or release of the lien or lien, indicated in said certificate of title.
(b) If the interest of one owner in a vehicle passes to another in accordance with the provisions of the Small Property Provisions of the Probate Act of 1975, the transferee must immediately mail or deliver to the Secretary of State, within 120 days, the latest certificate of ownership, if available, documentation required under the Probate Act 1975, and an application for a certificate of title. The Small Property Affidavit Form must be provided by the Secretary of State. The transfer may be made to the assignee or the assignee's representative.
(c) If an owner's interest in a vehicle passes to another under other provisions of the Inheritance Act 1975, as amended, and the transfer is made by a representative or guardian, such transferee must promptly mail or deliver to the Secretary of State, the latest certificate of title, if available, and a certified copy of the letters of office or guardianship, and an application for a certificate of title. Said request must be made before closing the estate. The transfer may be made to the assignee or the assignee's representative.
(d) If an owner's interest in the joint tenancy passes to the other joint tenant with rights of survivorship as provided by law, the transferee shall promptly mail or deliver to the Secretary of State the last certificate of ownership, if available , proof of death of a co-tenant and survival of the surviving co-tenant and an application for a certificate of title. Such request must be made within 120 days of the death of the co-owner. The transfer may be made to the assignee or the assignee's representative.
(d-5) If an owner's interest passes to the owner's spouse or if the spouse otherwise acquires ownership of the vehicle, the transferee must promptly mail or deliver to the Secretary of State proof of (i) the death of the owner; (ii) the transmission or acquisition of goods; and (iii) proof of the marital relationship between the owner and the transferee, along with the latest certificate of ownership, if available, and an application for a certificate of ownership, along with applicable fees and taxes, if applicable. The request must be made within 180 days of the owner's death.
(e) The Secretary of State shall transfer title to a deceased person's vehicle to any decedent's legatee, representative, or heir who submits to the Secretary a death certificate and an attorney's sworn statement on attorney's letterhead stating the facts of the transference.
(f) Repossession with transfer of title. In all cases where the foreign owner has repossessed a vehicle through a non-judicial process and is holding it for resale under a warranty contract, and the registered owner has signed a release of the existing certificate of ownership after default , the warranty holder may proceed with the sale or otherwise dispose of the vehicle as authorized by the Uniform Commercial Code. When selling the vehicle to someone else, the lender does not need to send the certificate of ownership to the Secretary of State, but must immediately mail or deliver to the buyer as transferee the existing certificate of ownership for the repossessed vehicle within 20 days , which reflects the release of the lender's real security right over the vehicle. The buyer's request for a certificate of ownership must comply with subsection (a) of Section 3-104 and be accompanied by the existing certificate of ownership for the repossessed vehicle. The lender must execute the assignment and security of title by showing the buyer's name and address in the spaces provided on the certificate of ownership or as prescribed by the Secretary of State. The lien holder will need to complete a release of title on the certificate of ownership to reflect the transfer of the vehicle to the lien holder and also a reassignment to reflect the transfer from the lien holder to the buyer. For these purposes, the creditor is expressly authorized to fill in and execute the space reserved in the title deed for the reassignment of the concessionaire, even if the assignor is not an authorized concessionaire. Nothing herein shall be construed to mean that creditor is assuming title to the vehicle in possession for purposes of retailer occupancy, vehicle use, or other tax liability with respect to proceeds from the sale of recovery. The delivery to the purchaser of the existing certificate of ownership will be considered communication to the purchaser of the owner of the vehicle.
(f-5) Seizure without attribution of title. Subject to subsection (f-30), in all cases where the foreign owner has recovered possession of a vehicle by means other than legal process and is holding it for resale under a warranty contract, and the owner of record does not execute an assignment of the existing property title certificate, the holder of the security must comply with the following provisions:
(1) Before the sale, the holder of the security must deliver or

send the owner at the last known address of the owner, and any other record holders, a notice of redemption containing the following information: (i) the name of the owner of the record and in bold type at or near the top of the notice a statement that the owner's vehicle was repossessed on a specified date for nonpayment of the loan (or other reason), (ii) a description of the vehicle subject to the impoundment sufficient to identify it, (iii) the owner's right to redeem the vehicle, (iv) the creditor's intent to sell or dispose of the vehicle after the expiration of 21 days from the date the notice was mailed or delivered, and (v) the name, address, and telephone number of the lienholder from whom information may be obtained regarding the amount owed to salvage the vehicle and from whom the vehicle may be salvaged pursuant to Section 9-623 of the Uniform Commercial Code. At the option of the security holder, the information required to be set forth in this notice of redemption may form part of or accompany the notice of sale or other provision required by Section 9-611 of the Uniform Commercial Code, but none of the information required by this notice shall be construed as imposing any requirement under Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code.

(2) With respect to repossession of a vehicle

Used primarily for personal, family, or household purposes, the warranty holder must also deliver or mail to the owner, at the owner's last known address, an affidavit of defense. The statement of defense must accompany the notice of redemption required in subdivision (f-5)(1) of this Section. The defense statement must (i) identify the creditor, the owner and the vehicle; (ii) provide space for the owner to present the defense alleged by the owner; and (iii) include an acknowledgment by the owner that the owner may be liable to the lienholder for fees, charges, and costs incurred by the lienholder in establishing the insufficiency or invalidity of the owner's defense. To stop the transfer of title, the security holder must receive the statement of defense no later than 21 days after the date the notice required in subdivision (f-5)(1) of this Section is mailed or delivered. If the lienholder receives the owner's statement in a timely manner, the lienholder must go to a court of competent jurisdiction to determine whether the lienholder is entitled to possession of the vehicle.

(3) When selling the vehicle to another person, the

The lienholder need not mail the certificate of ownership to the Secretary of State, but must mail or deliver immediately and within 20 days to the buyer as transferee (i) the existing certificate of ownership for the repossessed vehicle, reflecting the release of the right in rem of the guarantee of the holder of the guarantee on the vehicle; and (ii) an affidavit of repossession made by or on behalf of the lender that provides the following information: that the vehicle has been repossessed, a description of the vehicle sufficient to identify it, whether the vehicle has been damaged for more than 50% of its fair market value, as required by subdivision (b)(3) of Section 3-117.1, that the owner and any other lienholder of record have received the notice required in subdivision (f-5)(1) of this Section, that the owner of record has received the defense statement required in subdivision (f-5)(2) of this Section that the owner's interest was lawfully terminated or sold pursuant to the terms of the security agreement, and the name and address of the buyer. If the vehicle is damaged to more than 50% of its fair market value, the warranty holder must apply for a certificate of salvage in accordance with Section 3-117.1 and transfer the vehicle to a qualified person to receive certificate of salvage assignments. salvage identified in Section 3 -118.

(4) The application for a certificate of title made

by the buyer must be in accordance with subsection (a) of Section 3-104 and be accompanied by the repossession statement provided by the lender and the existing certificate of ownership for the repossessed vehicle. The lender must sign the assignment and guarantee of domain, indicating the name and address of the acquirer in the spaces provided for this purpose in the property title or as prescribed by the Secretary of State. The lien holder will need to complete a release of title on the certificate of ownership to reflect the transfer of the vehicle to the lien holder and also a reassignment to reflect the transfer from the lien holder to the buyer. For these purposes, the transferor is expressly authorized to carry out the assignment on behalf of the owner as seller, if he has not already done so, and to fill in and execute the space reserved in the title deed for retransmission. of concession, notwithstanding that the assignor is not an authorized dealer. Nothing herein shall be construed to imply that the lienholder is assuming title to the repossessed vehicle for retail occupancy, vehicle use, or other tax purposes with respect to the proceeds of the repossessed sale. Delivery of the existing certificate of ownership to the buyer will be considered disclosure to the buyer of the owner of the vehicle. In the event that the creditor does not have the certificate of ownership of the seized vehicle, the creditor will request and may obtain a new certificate of ownership in the name of the creditor after satisfactory information to the Secretary of State. Upon receipt of the new certificate of ownership, the lender may proceed with the sale described in subdivision (f-5)(3), except that, upon selling the vehicle, the lender must mail or deliver to the buyer immediately and within of the 20 days. the new certificate of title reflecting the assignment and transfer of title to the buyer.

(5) Neither the lender nor the owner must present

with the Office of the Secretary of State the notice of redemption or statement of defense described in subsections (f-5)(1) and (f-5)(2) of this Section. The Office of the Secretary of State will not determine the merits of an owner's affidavit of defense, nor will it consider any claim or assertion regarding the validity or invalidity of a lender's claim on the vehicle or the owner's stated defenses to the action. property recovery. .

(f-7) Notification of reimbursement in certain cases.
(1) Subject to subsection (f-30), if, at the time of

lien by a creditor seeking to transfer title pursuant to subsection (f-5), the owner has paid an amount equal to 30% or more of the price of the deferred payment or the total payments due, the owner may , within 21 days of the repossession date, reinstate the contract or loan agreement and repossess the vehicle from the lender by submitting a lump sum (i) of the total of all unpaid amounts, including any default or deferment fees owed on the date of restoration, without anticipation; and (ii) the performance required to remedy any default other than failure to pay amounts due; and (iii) all reasonable costs and fees incurred by the lender to recover, retain, and prepare the vehicle for disposition and to arrange for the sale of the vehicle. Reasonable costs and fees incurred by the lien holder include, but are not limited to, repossession and storage expenses and, if authorized by the contract or loan agreement, reasonable attorneys' fees and collection agency charges.

(2) Proposed payment and execution in accordance with

This limited right of repayment restores the owner's rights under the contract or loan agreement as if there had been no default. The owner has the right to reinstate the contract or loan agreement and repossess the vehicle from the creditor one time only pursuant to this subsection. The creditor may, in its sole discretion, extend the period during which the owner may reinstate the lease or loan and repossess the vehicle beyond the 21 days allowed in this subsection, and such extension shall not subject the creditor to liability to the owner under the laws of this State.

(3) The security holder must deliver or mail

notification to the owner at the owner's last known address, within 3 business days of the date of repossession, of the owner's right to reinstate the lease or loan agreement and recover possession of the vehicle pursuant to the limited right of repossession described in this subsection. At the security holder's option, the information required to be set forth in this reinstatement notice may form part of or accompany the redemption notice required in subdivision (f-5)(1) of this Section and the notice of sale or other provision required by Section 9-611 of the Uniform Commercial Code, but none of the information required by this reinstatement notice shall be construed as imposing any requirement under Section 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code.

(4) The repayment period, if applicable, and the

The redemption period described in subdivision (f-5)(1) of this Section shall run concurrently if the required information set forth in the restitution notice forms part of or accompanies the redemption notice. In any event, the 21-day redemption period described in subdivision (f-5)(1) of this Section shall begin on the date of submission or delivery to the owner of the required information to be set forth in the notice of redemption, and The 21-day reinstatement period described in this subsection, if applicable, will begin on the date the required information is mailed or delivered to the owner to be set forth in the reinstatement notice.

(5) The Office of the Secretary of State does not

determine the merits of the owner's right of recovery claim, or consider any claim or assertion regarding the validity or invalidity of a lender's claim on the vehicle or the owner's asserted right of recovery. When a lienholder is subject to licensing and regulatory supervision by the State of Illinois, the lienholder shall be subject to the full powers and authority of the lienholder's principal state regulator to enforce the procedures set forth in this subsection (f-7 ) .

(f-10) Recovery by judicial means. In all cases where a lender has repossessed a vehicle by court order and is holding it for resale pursuant to a surety agreement, repossession order, or other court order establishing the lender's right to possess the vehicle, the lender may proceed to sell or otherwise dispose of the vehicle. vehicle as authorized by the Uniform Commercial Code or a court order. When selling the vehicle to another person, the lender does not need to mail the certificate of ownership to the Secretary of State, but must immediately and within 20 days mail or deliver to the buyer as assignee (i) the existing certificate of ownership for the resumed vehicle reflecting the release of the lender's security interest in the vehicle; (ii) certified copy of the court order; and (iii) invoice that identifies the name and address of the new owner and the year, make, model and identification number of the vehicle. -104 and accompanied by a certified copy of the judicial order granted by the creditor and the existing certificate of ownership of the seized vehicle. The seller must sign the assignment and guarantee of ownership, indicating the name and address of the buyer in the spaces provided for it in the certificate of title or as prescribed by the Secretary of State. The lien holder will need to complete a release of title on the certificate of ownership to reflect the transfer of the vehicle to the lien holder and also a reassignment to reflect the transfer from the lien holder to the buyer. For these purposes, the creditor is expressly authorized to execute the assignment on behalf of the owner as seller, if the latter has not done so, and to fill and grant the space reserved in the property title for a commercial assignment, notwithstanding that the creditor not be an authorized reseller. Nothing herein shall be construed to mean that creditor is assuming title to the vehicle in possession for purposes of retailer occupancy, vehicle use, or other tax liability with respect to proceeds from the sale of recovery. The delivery to the purchaser of the existing certificate of ownership will be considered communication to the purchaser of the owner of the vehicle. In the event the creditor does not possess the certificate of ownership for the repossessed vehicle, the creditor will request and may obtain a new certificate of ownership in the creditor's name by providing satisfactory information to the Secretary of State. Upon receipt of the new certificate of ownership, the creditor may proceed with the sale described in this subsection, except that, upon selling the vehicle, the creditor must promptly mail or deliver to the buyer, within 20 days, the new certificate of ownership that reflects the assignment and transfer of ownership to the buyer.
(f-15) The Secretary of State shall not issue a certificate of ownership to a purchaser under subsection (f), (f-5), or (f-10) of this Section unless the person from whom the vehicle was repossessed by The warranty holder is shown as the last registered owner of the motor vehicle. The Secretary of State may establish as a rule the norms to be followed by a creditor in the assignment and transfer of property titles with respect to seized vehicles.
(f-20) If you apply for a certificate of salvage or a certificate of breaking, the lender must, within 20 days, apply to the Secretary of State for a certificate of salvage or a certificate of breaking as provided in this Code. The Secretary of State shall not issue a certificate of salvage or a certificate of disposal to said lender unless the person from whom said vehicle was recovered is the last registered owner of said motor vehicle and said lender establishes to the satisfaction of the Secretary of State that he has entitled to such salvage certificate or scrapping certificate. The Secretary of State may establish by regulation the norms that a lender must follow to obtain a certificate of salvage or disposal of his own vehicle.
(f-25) If an owner's interest in a mobilehome as defined in the Mobilehome Local Utilities Tax Act passes to another under the provisions of the Mobilehome Local Utilities Tax Compliance Act, the The transferee shall immediately mail or deliver to the Secretary of Indicate (i) the latest certificate of ownership, if available, (ii) a certified copy of the court order ordering the transfer of ownership, and (iii) an application for a certificate proprietary.
(f-30) Bankruptcy. If the repossessed vehicle is subject to bankruptcy or liquidation proceedings:
(1) the holder of the security may proceed with the sale or otherwise

dispose of the vehicle as authorized by the Bankruptcy Code and the Uniform Commercial Code;

(2) the notice of redemption, statement of defense,

and the notice of reinstatement that the lien holder is otherwise required to send to the record holder or other registered lien holder under this Section is not required to be delivered or mailed;

(3) the requirement to postpone the disposition of the

vehicle for 21 days, (i) the mailing or delivery of the notice of redemption under subdivision (f-5)(1) of this Section, (ii) the mailing or delivery of the defense statement under subdivision (f-5)(2) ) of this Section, or (iii) from the date of repossession when the owner is entitled to notice of repossession pursuant to subsection (f-7) of this Section, not apply;

(4) the required recovery statement

under subsection (f-5)(3) must contain a notation of "bankruptcy" when the declaration requires the date of mailing or delivery of the notice of redemption. The "bankruptcy" notation means that the lienholder fails to make affidavits in connection with the mailing or delivery of the lienholder's notice of redemption or affidavit of defense or compliance with the requirements that otherwise apply to the notices listed in this subsection (f-30), and makes no affidavit that the lienholder assumes responsibility or costs for any litigation that may arise from the issuance of a certificate of ownership based on the excluded representations;

(5) the right of redemption, the right to claim a

title transfer defense and reinstatement rights under this Section do not apply; Is

(6) references to court cases and court orders

in subsection (f-10) of this Section do not include bankruptcy procedures or orders.

(g) A person who possesses a certificate of ownership whose interest in the vehicle has been canceled or otherwise transferred by means of a voluntary transfer must present or surrender the certificate within 20 days upon request of the Secretary of State. Delivery of the certificate pursuant to the Secretary of State's request does not affect the rights of the person delivering the certificate, and the action of the Secretary of State in issuing a new certificate of ownership as provided herein is not conclusive as to the rights of an owner or lien holder named in the above certificate.
(h) The Secretary of State may refuse to process any application for the transfer of an interest in a vehicle hereunder if the duties or taxes owed under this Act by the transferor or transferee have not been paid by notice and demand. reasonable.
(i) The Secretary of State shall not be liable civilly or criminally to any person because any purported transferor does not have the power or authority to make a transfer of any interest in any vehicle or because a certificate of ownership issued in error is subsequently used to commit a fraudulent act.
(Source: P.A. 102-319, ef. 1-1-22.)


FAQs

What does Illinois compiled statutes mean? ›

Public Libraries and the Law

The Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is a compilation of Public Acts, organized by Chapter and Act number under nine topical categories. Public Acts are bills that have been passed by the Illinois General Assembly and signed by the Governor.

What is Illinois compiled statutes 725? ›

Section 725 ILCS 5/107-14 - Temporary questioning without arrest (a) A peace officer, after having identified himself as a peace officer, may stop any person in a public place for a reasonable period of time when the officer reasonably infers from the circumstances that the person is committing, is about to commit or ...

What is the Illinois compiled statute 720? ›

Section 720 ILCS 5/12-6 - Intimidation (a) A person commits intimidation when, with intent to cause another to perform or to omit the performance of any act, he or she communicates to another, directly or indirectly by any means , a threat to perform without lawful authority any of the following acts: (1) Inflict ...

What is Illinois compiled statutes 745? ›

A local public entity is not liable for an injury resulting from an act or omission of its employee where the employee is not liable. (Source: Laws 1965, p. 2983.) Sec.

What is a compilation of statutes? ›

Each Statute Compilation incorporates the amendments made to the underlying statute since it was originally enacted. When legislation cites or amends a statutory provision that is not part of a positive law title of the U.S. Code, the citation or amendment must be to the underlying statute, not to the U.S. Code.

What is a compilation of statutes called? ›

Codes are subject compilations of statutes currently in effect, as amended. You can find federal slip laws, session laws, and codified laws in print and electronic sources.

What are the Illinois compiled statutes criminal trespass to property? ›

Section 720 ILCS 5/19-4 - Criminal Trespass to Residence (a) (1) A person commits criminal trespass to a residence when, without authority, he or she knowingly enters or remains within any residence, including a house trailer that is the dwelling place of another.

What is Illinois compiled statutes Chapter 755 Article 45? ›

The purpose of this Power of Attorney is to give your designated "agent" broad powers to handle your financial affairs, which may include the power to pledge, sell, or dispose of any of your real or personal property, even without your consent or any advance notice to you.

Is the Illinois compiled statutes annotated? ›

Drawing its statutory text directly from the official database of the Illinois Legislature, ILCSA contains the most thorough, current, and exact annotations to Illinois statutory law available.

What is Illinois compiled statutes Chapter 430? ›

(a) (1) No person may acquire or possess any firearm, stun gun, or taser within this State without having in his or her possession a Firearm Owner's Identification Card previously issued in his or her name by the Illinois State Police under the provisions of this Act.

What is 225 Illinois compiled statute 90? ›

This Act is enacted for the purpose of protecting the public health, safety, and welfare, and for providing for State administrative control, supervision, licensure, and regulation of the practice of physical therapy.

What is Illinois statute 730 150 6? ›

Any person who lacks a fixed residence must report weekly, in person, to the appropriate law enforcement agency where the sex offender is located.

What is Illinois Statute 3 701? ›

3-701. Operation of vehicles without evidence of registration - Operation under mileage plates when odometer broken or disconnected.

What is Illinois statute 720 550 4a? ›

Except as otherwise provided in the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act and the Industrial Hemp Act, it is unlawful for any person knowingly to possess cannabis. enforcement agency that issued the citation for the violation. cannabis is guilty of a Class 1 felony.

What is Illinois Statute 11 701? ›

11-701. Drive on right side of roadway - exceptions. side of the public highway and 2 vehicles meet thereon, the driver on whose right is the wider shoulder shall give the right-of-way on such pavement to the other vehicle.

What are the two types of statutes? ›

Types of Statutes

Slip laws are the laws passed by the legislature, published individually. Session laws are the chronological compilation of slip laws passed by the legislature during a legislative session.

Can compilations be protected? ›

A compilation of mere facts may not be copyrighted. Instead, a compilation may only be copyrighted if there is a creative or original act involved, i.e., in the selection and arrangement of materials. The protection is limited only to the creative or original aspects of the compilation.

Are compilations fair use? ›

Just like any other use of another's work, you need permission to use someone's work in creating a compilation. »However, compilations made up of works that are not protected by copyright do not require permissions.

How are statutes formatted? ›

Federal statutes are similar in format to state citations. Federal statute citations are composed of four parts: the title number, the title of the code, a section number, and a date. For instructions on how to cite a federal statute generally, see Rule B12.

What is the difference between a law and a statue? ›

Bill: What a statute is called when it is introduced in Congress or a state legislature. When a bill is passed by both houses and the President or a state governor, it becomes a law and will usually be published according to its bill number in a publication called "Session Laws" or "Statutes at Large."

What are the United States compiled statutes? ›

The United States Statutes at Large is the collection of every law, public and private, ever enacted by the Congress, published in order of the date of its passage. These laws are codified every six years in the United States Code, but the Statutes at Large remains the official source of legislation.

What are Illinois compiled statutes unlawful use of a weapon? ›

Aggravated unlawful use of a weapon is categorized as a Class 4 felony. If guilty, the defendant can be sentenced to 1 to 3 years in the Illinois Department of Corrections and may be fined up to $25,000. The law says that the judge is permitted to sentence the defendant to probation as opposed to time in custody.

What is Illinois compiled statutes residential burglary? ›

19-3. Residential burglary. (a) A person commits residential burglary when he or she knowingly and without authority enters or knowingly and without authority remains within the dwelling place of another, or any part thereof, with the intent to commit therein a felony or theft.

What are the new trespassing laws in Illinois 2023? ›

Myth 1: In Illinois, police will be banned from removing trespassers from your home as of Jan. 1, 2023. Fact 1: This is false. There is nothing banning police from removing trespassers from your home.

What does Section 10 22.39 of the Illinois compiled statutes require? ›

At a minimum, school personnel must be trained to understand, provide information and referrals, and address issues pertaining to youth who are parents, expectant parents, or victims of domestic or sexual violence.

What is Illinois statute 11 904? ›

11-904. Vehicle entering stop or yield intersection. (a) Preferential right-of-way at an intersection may be indicated by stop or yield signs as authorized in Section 11-302 of this Chapter.

What is Illinois statute 11 305a? ›

(a) The driver of any vehicle shall obey the instructions of any official traffic-control device applicable thereto placed or held in accordance with the provisions of this Act, unless otherwise directed by a police officer, subject to the exceptions granted the driver of an authorized emergency vehicle in this Act.

What is the difference between statutes and annotated statutes? ›

Annotated Statutes provide not only the actual texts of the statute but also summary of the cases that interpret the statute. Thus, if you find a relevant statute, use its annotations to find cases that interpret your statute.

What is the difference between annotated and unannotated statutes? ›

An unannotated code includes the text of the statutes and history notes identifying the origin and amendments for each statute. Annotated codes have this information and also contain citations to cases interpreting the statute, regulations pertaining to the statute, and secondary sources discussing the statute.

What are Illinois statutes called? ›

All the Public Acts of a given legislative session are compiled into a publication of session laws called Laws of Illinois, which is the state's equivalent of the U.S. Statutes at Large, and thus is organized chronologically.

What is the difference between trespass and trespass on the case? ›

The writs of trespass and trespass on the case are the two catchall torts from English common law, the former involving trespass against the person, the latter involving trespass against anything else which may be actionable.

How long does a criminal trespass last in Illinois? ›

Under the Illinois Criminal Code, trespass is misdemeanor. This can get you 30 days to 6 months in jail, and a maximum $500 fine.

Is criminal trespass to residence a felony or misdemeanor in Illinois? ›

Residence Trespass

Trespassing into someone's residence is normally a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and fines to $2,500. However, if a person knowingly trespasses into a residence where they know people are present, then it can be charged as a Class 4 felony.

What are the Illinois compiled statutes impersonating a police officer? ›

A person who knowingly and falsely represents himself or herself to be a peace officer commits a Class 4 felony. (Source: P.A. 94-730, eff. 4-17-06.)

How much time can a convicted felon get for possession of firearm in Illinois? ›

sentencing range is 3 to 7 years. However, people convicted of a Class 2 felon in possession of a firearm offense must be sentenced to prison, and the sentencing range is 3 to 14 years. Under both federal and Illinois law, it is illegal for a person with a prior felony conviction to possess a firearm.

Can you brandish a gun in Illinois? ›

(A) It shall be unlawful for any person to carry in a threatening or menacing manner, without authority of law, any pistol, revolver, dagger, razor, dangerous knife, stiletto, knuckles, slingshot or any object containing noxious or deleterious liquid, gas or substance or other dangerous weapon, or any device ...

How long do you go to jail for burglary in Illinois? ›

Typically, a general burglary case results in a Class 3 felony charge, bringing a potential two- to a five-year prison sentence. If the building was damaged in the process, the charge would elevate to a Class 2 felony, which has the potential of between three and seven years in prison.

What is the Illinois statute theft from a person? ›

(1) Theft of property not from the person and not exceeding $500 in value is a Class A misdemeanor. (1.1) Theft of property not from the person and not exceeding $500 in value is a Class 4 felony if the theft was committed in a school or place of worship or if the theft was of governmental property.

What is the Illinois compiled statutes for threatening a public official? ›

(c) Threatening a public official or human service provider is a Class 3 felony for a first offense and a Class 2 felony for a second or subsequent offense. (Source: P.A. 100-1, eff. 1-1-18 .)

Videos

1. Stop and identify statutes
(Audiopedia)
2. Recent Updates in Illinois Law
(Thompson Coburn LLP)
3. Redistricting in Illinois
(Illinois Senate Republican Caucus)
4. Visiting the Illinois Capitol
(Illinois Senate Republican Caucus)
5. Illinois Sales Tax Explained | Rates, Forms, Registrations, and More
(LedgerGurus)
6. Equal Marriage Rights in Illinois
(Gay Liberation Network)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Gov. Deandrea McKenzie

Last Updated: 01/06/2023

Views: 5590

Rating: 4.6 / 5 (46 voted)

Reviews: 93% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Gov. Deandrea McKenzie

Birthday: 2001-01-17

Address: Suite 769 2454 Marsha Coves, Debbieton, MS 95002

Phone: +813077629322

Job: Real-Estate Executive

Hobby: Archery, Metal detecting, Kitesurfing, Genealogy, Kitesurfing, Calligraphy, Roller skating

Introduction: My name is Gov. Deandrea McKenzie, I am a spotless, clean, glamorous, sparkling, adventurous, nice, brainy person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.